[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 36 KB, 360x240, fluoride_yournotgoingtopoison[1].gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3428197 No.3428197 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /sci/,
So I've read a bunch of articles about water fuoridation being bad and the seem to make sense. But, since I'm a layman and could be wrong what do you have to say?
(Note: not everyone who questions mainstream opinions is a troll, I'm simply asking)
>yl;dr: water fuoridation: good or bad?

>> No.3428204

10 billion dollars have been saved in dental bills since we started doing it. Strangely our tin foil sales have been up recently too.

Also since it hasn't been said here in a while: WAKE UP SHEEPLE

>> No.3428207

>yl;dr
really?

>> No.3428223

Good, the stuff you read is a bunch of crap.

http://www.skepticnorth.com/2010/10/fluoridiated-water-debate-returns-nothing-new-is-said/

>> No.3428227

>>3428204
Those savings have absolutely NOTHING to do with proper oral hygiene, or anything, right?

Fluoride is nasty shit. It's illegal to put it in water in some other first world nations.

>> No.3428238

All the evidence points to it being harmless at the levels in fluoridated municipal water, and it dramatically decreases tooth decay at insignificant cost. From a pragmatic standpoint, it's definitely good.

>> No.3428241

>>3428227
No, fluoride was introduced fairly recently. It's not like people didn't know what a toothbrush was before.

>> No.3428249

>>3428227
>Those savings have absolutely NOTHING to do with proper oral hygiene, or anything, right?
>implying other variables weren't taken into account

>> No.3428256

Thank God the UK doesn't poison its residents with flouride.

I know one place I won't be going on holiday this year.

>> No.3428257

>>3428241