[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 25 KB, 340x221, infinity-symbol.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3302139 No.3302139 [Reply] [Original]

Hello, /sci/entists.

I am currently a freshman in high school, and I have an important question to ask. None of the teachers in my school have been able to provide an answer, so I have turned to you.

The law of conservation of energy states that energy cannot be created or destroyed. Yet we also have the Big Bang model, which states that the universe started as a very condensed, very hot, and very small ball of energy, which expanded rapidly. Common sense tells us that there is a beginning to everything, so where did this 'baby' universe come from? Supposing 'God' created the universe, how was this omniscient being created? If energy cannot be created, how did anything start? By saying there has to be a beginning, we are going against a law of the universe. I have gotten in a few debates over this. The other party's reply was always "God created the universe," and that was the end of it.

I personally believe energy can be created and destroyed. The only question that remains is: How?

Tell me, /sci/ence nerds, what are your views? Abandon religion for a moment.

>> No.3302151

>I am currently a freshman in high school
>I personally believe energy can be created and destroyed.

Troll?

>> No.3302147

I hope you didn't ask this question in class. If so enjoy the next four years.

>> No.3302159

Define created and destroyed.

>> No.3302170

> If energy cannot be created, how did anything start?
Particles + antiparticles = 0, also we're sure yet - but we're working on it.

> Common sense tells us that there is a beginning to everything, so where did this 'baby' universe come from?
Nope.jpg