[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 3 KB, 126x126, 1306015806786.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3264128 No.3264128 [Reply] [Original]

So im somewhat undecided on a major but Ive been thinking about marine biology.

I really want a job that doesnt have me sitting behind a desk or doing something boring.

I dont know the demand for that major and the pay doesnt seem to good either. Would i fuck myself over if i majored in that. Other similar alternatives?

>> No.3264132 [DELETED] 
File: 13 KB, 247x321, tomgreen.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

"A marine biologist, well...that sounds like a lie"

>> No.3264148

don't do marine bio, no jobs or opportunities at all

>> No.3264159
File: 58 KB, 540x405, marine biology.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Marine biology is exciting.

>> No.3264162

>>3264148

But i read that the oceans are going down the shitter. Wouldnt they need biologists?

Is anyone currently majoring in this or has graduated?

Other similar routes?

>> No.3264174
File: 292 KB, 487x348, cramer.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>3264159
Is that a titleist?

>> No.3264181

A friend of mine has a Ph.D. in Marine Biology, and he's currently a PE teacher at a local middle school.

I shit you not.

>> No.3264197

>>3264181

Well.... He got unlucky....fuck

Are there any professions that require at least a moderately active lifestyle (like hiking around and shit), pay well, and are sci related?

No physics. I fucking hate physics.

>> No.3264203

>>3264197
environmental science maybe, an old friend of mine majored in that and is now a park ranger;i forget which park though

>> No.3264209

>>3264197
geology. i shit you not