[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 31 KB, 528x326, DanielDay1.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3229243 No.3229243 [Reply] [Original]

This is my first time posting here, but there is a question that has been rattling around in my mind for months.

Why is it that someone like myself, a well adjusted middle class white male, that experienced a nurturing, trauma-less upbringing would grow to hold a deeply seated hatred for my own species?

i have meaningful relationships with the people around me, and a solid group of friends, but when i think about humanity, all that comes to mind is our tendency towards anthropocentrism and the disregard of the millions of other lifeforms that inhabit our earth.

Literally, if given the chance, i would exterminate mankind, including myself without hesitation.

are these sentiments common among the scientific community?

>> No.3229279

Join the green anarchists.
Fuck trees.
Success will be had.

>> No.3229287

Welcome to the club, but why would you extinguish mankind? Why not just let him exist?

Also, you are a result of your experiences, experiences do not have to be traumatic to shape belief

>> No.3229288
File: 11 KB, 400x267, fail.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>hold a deeply seated hatred for my own species
>i would exterminate mankind, including myself without hesitation
wow so edgy hipster are you

Humans are flawed but that only means humans are to be surpassed, if humans were killed then another sapient civilization building species may not evolve in time before the sun bellows into a red giant and destroys all life on earth. If another species did achieve sapience then they would probably be just as destructive as us anyway.