[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 35 KB, 500x379, dry793.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3192554 No.3192554 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /sci/, first time poster.

So, I've been going around 4chan and asking several boards for help with this problem, and /x/, /fit/, and /adv/ have all said that the greatest minds of 4chan congregate here.

It's a decently sized story, so bare with me.

It all started maybe 2 and a half years ago, when I started learning to drive. You know how highway hypnosis sets in and you go into autopilot mode after awhile? Well, that started happening, and I didn't like the feeling of it, so i tried my hardest to fight it off while driving, but I couldn't. Each time I drove it got worse, and it began to seep into the other aspects of my life until it became a never-ending stream of dissociation. I've had maybe 5 breaks in this constant derealization, all of which lasted for 5 seconds at the most

I've been told that anxiety is the root cause of this, and this seems to be true since I've felt a major surge in my anxiety levels these past 2 years, and the two seem to feed off each other.

>> No.3192555

So far I've been to 4 different psychiatrists, psychologists and counselors

#1. Helped me get off lexapro, as I thought that pill may have been casing this sensory fog, he also suggested herbal supplements to help regulate my sleep and to help fix the derealization
The supplements seemed to help for a little, and the level of detachment I felt seemed to decrease slightly. But eventually it came back full force

2. Just talked with me about it.
Didn't really help