[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 47 KB, 440x442, 1303512917263.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2968984 No.2968984 [Reply] [Original]

What's the most lethal chemical you've ever handled, /sci/? How scared shitless were you?

>> No.2968989

>>2968984
Gen Chem handling, like -2 pH acids bare-handed...

Spilled some of that shit on the table, threw NaOH on that bitch and watched sodium crystals materialize like it came out of nowhere.

>> No.2969012

Fun stuff like HF, HI, HCl(gas). Generally careful, but not paranoid careful.

Work with sodium cyanide a lot, have to crush it up into a powder for organometallic nitrile synthesis. Try not to breathe it in like a boss.

Tert-butyl lithium, try not to get in on my clothes and die like the girl from UCLA (I think UCLA...). I'm a chemist, I work with anything and everything.

>> No.2969013

Hydroflouric Acid at 40%
>ohgodwhatwasidoing.jpg

12 molar NaOH was pretty damn scary also mostly because it does shit to ya but you don't feel it.

Only time I was legitimatly scared was when I got some blue stuff that some idiot left on a water bottle nozzle (messing around in the lab) on my hand and it started burning, just washed my hand and I was fine after that though.

Also breathed in some chemical from a copper reactions lab back in High School. Tasted extremely bitter and is a 3 on the fire square in health and apparently corrodes your eyes, I had no idea at the time.

>> No.2969034

Back when I was 12, I mixed up weakened HCl with bleach while in the bathroom with the door closed. Chlorine gas formed, took a couple accidental breaths. Scared shitless I dropped the test tube onto the sink and bolted out.

feelsbadman.jpg

>> No.2969051

The most lethal chemical: Man.