[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 60 KB, 392x500, depression.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2920019 No.2920019 [Reply] [Original]

Tell me why chemistry/physics/math majors are magnitudes more difficult than anything else out there, yet we make so little money?

A lab technician with BS in chemistry makes $35k starting.
Do employers realize the difficulty of the coursework?
I'm studying for P-chem final right now and it makes me want to slit my wrist, drive my car off a cliff, or start barbecuing with the doors closed.

So what's the point of majoring in science when some frat bros who majored in business and party everyday can graduate and start working with the same or even higher salary as ours?

>> No.2920032

What I find heart-wrenching is that 99% of the people out there will never realize how difficult it is.

I went through physical chemistry and literally did not understand anything even when I got the right answer.
Lab report was over 50 pages long with error analysis.

>> No.2920047

Math major here. I don't care about my job prospects upon graduating. I'll probably apply for Masters or PhD programs and go from there. As a minimalist, I don't really care that I'll make very little when I do get a job.

>> No.2920054
File: 68 KB, 324x467, anal_lube.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>physical chemistry

>> No.2920062
File: 353 KB, 1280x1920, f science.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Want to really an hero?

> Work in a warehouse driving forklifts.
> Job requires high school degree.
> Made $42k last year.
> Have 1040's to prove it.

Enjoy paying your student loans on $35k.

>> No.2920065

Being a science major is a lot of work with nothing to show for it.

Makes me rage when those economic majors flaunt off the math they learn.

>> No.2920073