[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 16 KB, 294x400, political-pictures-sigmund-freud-trust-doctor.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2731626 No.2731626 [Reply] [Original]

Is psychology a science? Discuss.

>> No.2731637
File: 55 KB, 320x240, 12582.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

No

..back off I'm a scientist

>> No.2731639
File: 10 KB, 223x226, gtfo2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

I know you just came from the social manipulation thread, so you fucking know it is a science.
GTFO.

>> No.2731640

I am a doctor and what is this?

>> No.2731653

As a "top tier" fag who's actually does active and publishable research (contrary to 99% of /sci/ posters), yes psychology is a science but just barely.

Here's something for you kiddies, if something uses the scientific method, it's science.

>> No.2731661

There is no reason why psychology CAN'T be a science. It's the investigation of a series of empirical phenomena through the scientific method.

... they're just mostly shit at it and hippie pussies.

>> No.2731664

>>2731653
Post publishings

>> No.2731676

>>2731653
>if something uses the scientific method
ah yes, there's your problem. see the following link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IaO69CF5mbY

>> No.2731690

>>2731626
Not social psychology or counseling psychology.

But neuropsychology which uses empirical data is true science.

>> No.2731695

>>2731676

>Problem with the way psychologists act
>Problem with psychology in principle

Two different things

>Aristotle's physics was unscientific
>Physics is unscientific

Two different things.

>> No.2731698

OP here, I think psychology IS a pseudoscience btw.

>> No.2731699

Just as much as wanting to fuck your mom is

>> No.2731703

>>2731690
>Neuropsychology
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA