[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 22 KB, 300x325, 58672583.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2611464 No.2611464 [Reply] [Original]

Well /sci/, do I have a story for you.

I am a nuclear engineer at the University of Illinois, and today was my first day doing research in the nuclear engineering lab. I assist a doctoral student with... things (I don't want to say because anyone who knows me would immediately know who I am). I can assure you though, it is nuclear engineering stuff.

Anyway, last night, I had to read an article on this special piece of equipment I would be calibrating. I had to find the article and stuff myself, so I googled it. For whatever reason, I could not find the EXACT piece of equipment, but I found one that I assumed was the same thing (it had a dash and then some numbers after the product name, I figured it should be basically the same).

I read this whole instruction manual on how to calibrate it and stuff, and it ends up being like twenty pages long. I read it slowly and carefully to make sure I remember everything and will be able to do my job tomorrow.

So this morning, I head to the lab to meet my professor, who asks me if I read what I was supposed to and will know what to do, to which I respond yes. Despite the twenty pages of reading, the procedure was actually pretty simple (or so it seemed).

I was led into the adjacent room, which was dimly lit. The walls were all concrete (cheap material with good halving thickness in case things go wrong) and the building itself just felt musty. He sat me down in front of a machine saying, "I'll be in the next room if you need any help."

>> No.2611467

...continued