[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 39 KB, 800x600, Homer-and-Crayon.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2519127 No.2519127 [Reply] [Original]

Be honest, did you at one point in your youth believe in god and/or pseudoscience? Did you used to lack critical thinking?

I was pretty ignorant at one point, reading horoscopes and praying for things to happen (although not to god). It's only after I discovered the internet that I was set straight. Now I'm studying science and approach lots of things with skepticism, completely different from my old self.

I don't know if it's just mental maturing or if being online played a large role.

>> No.2519151
File: 24 KB, 311x311, 1275070083818.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

> It's only after I discovered the internet that I was set straight

>> No.2519159

After watching Zeitgeist for the first time, I was severely depressed for a few days because it made me believe that the world was much more evil than I thought.

Also, Derren Brown

>> No.2519162

I started praying when I was 12 because everyone did. It instantly triggered some questions, hopefully. After some months I was a convict atheist.
Now I'm just agnostic after all follow skepticism

>> No.2519164
File: 39 KB, 600x600, 816223-gentlemen_bender_super.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

I was raised an atheist

I've always been a skeptic and question things extensively, requiring proper sources, before believing them.

feelsgoodman

>> No.2519186

Eeh, I was pretty neutral religion wise when I was young.

My parents told me about god and all that, but they always said that one of the worst things in men is ignorance, and that believing just about everything you see/read is stupid.