[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 33 KB, 596x394, 1282414405149.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2456846 No.2456846 [Reply] [Original]

Has anyone been successful at self-taught study in a field?

For example, if one were to download all the required material and spent their time studying, could they come out ahead in knowing quite a few things about, say, molecular biology or particle physics?

>> No.2456850

Absolutely. I've learned a lot of physics and math through a combination of thought and the internet. School is overrated.

>> No.2456876

>>2456850
Said it. If you only rely upon school for your education then lol.

That being said, learning out of a book without talking to experts will only give you an overview of the subject; if you want a working knowledge, you gotta do work in the field.

>> No.2456883 [DELETED] 

It's absolutely possible. I've never pulled it off because I can't stay focused long enough on anything to get very far in a technical field without a professor available as referencewith the exception of music-related things).. Music, on the other hand...

>> No.2456889

It's absolutely possible. I've never pulled it off because I can't stay focused long enough on anything to get very far in a technical field without a professor available as reference. Music, on the other hand...

>> No.2456894

It's possible, but it's much more difficult. You can miss a lot of subtle nuances of certain topics by just reading a book.

>> No.2456896

>>2456846
yes you could. there are lots of people who have done this. but what you say will probably be wrong, or completely trivial to someone who has studied formally, because you will skip over the finer points which take a lot of effort to understand, as well as all the routine boring memorization and basics.