[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 43 KB, 600x600, 080605163804-large[1].jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2442884 No.2442884 [Reply] [Original]

What is intelligence? Can dumb people understand complicated concepts if they spend enough time thinking about them? Or maybe dumb people can't understand complicated concepts, no matter how much time they spend thinking about them and/or trying to understand them?

>> No.2442905

jklgertmel;te;fss

>> No.2442908

Not a function of time, it's a function of interpretation.

>> No.2442911

interesting question. I think everyone will be able to learn anything, but I'm not a scientist, I just don't believe that you are born to be stupid.

Maybe intelligence is some sort of "talent" you're born with, just like Tiger Woods was born with a talent for golf. I have a hard time understanding complicated things, but I know it's because I rarely go in depths with stuff, but when I concentrate and grind the same thing over and over I learn and understand it.

>> No.2442918

I think of intelligence as pattern recognition; i.e. more intelligence = faster recognition of more complex patterns. I suppose that's pretty general, and there will be those on /sci/ with a more detailed understanding.

However, based on my understanding, a dumb person may not understand a complicated concept (thus making them dumb), or they may understand it with more time (thus giving them a lower rating on a dumb scale). And, I suppose, it is hard to give a polar scale for intelligence. Some people will be able to quickly understand something complex based on a certain type of reasoning, and won't be able to understand something less complex if it relies on knowledge or reasoning that they do not possess.

Why do you ask?

>> No.2442933

Let's put it this way...