[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 17 KB, 400x354, Human_Heart.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2159389 No.2159389 [Reply] [Original]

Hi /sci/

This is my first time ever here so correct me if i'm wrong but some of you MUST know something about human biology.

If i had a second heart installed would it increase my stamina? Would i require 4 lungs to supply the oxegen? Would it extend my life?

>> No.2159402

bamp?

>> No.2159398

More hearts and lungs would mean a higher failure rate. It wouldn't extend you life, in fact, it would probably shorten it.

>> No.2159412

>>2159398
well shit. Thanks anyway

>> No.2159414

humans aren't designed to have two hearts. They would probably end up working against each other. There's no mechanism in teh body to have two hearts beat in tandem.

>> No.2159418

did you really just bump a thread one minute after making it?

counterbamp

>> No.2159422

>>2159418

sages don't work like that faggot, it only posts without bumping

>> No.2159431

>>2159414
what if there was some kind of regulator to ensure they beat in tandem?

>> No.2159436

>>2159422
yes... I know.

>> No.2159446

Since the capacity of your heart and your two lungs are closely related you'd probably need 4 or more lungs to fully utilize both of your hearts.
As the first reply said, you run an increased chance of lung or heart failure.

Obviously though, barring any other significant changes, living with one heart wouldn't be that big a problem, and neither would living with three, or two lungs be.

>> No.2159457

Won't having two hearts just counter each others direction of blood flow and pressure? I think having a bulkier and bigger heart's better than having two of it.

>> No.2161046