[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 63 KB, 353x500, 1270469838345.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1977287 No.1977287 [Reply] [Original]

/sci/, i have a statistics question.

I have several mean values with corresponding standard deviations. I need the mean value and the standard deviation of those values.

Could you help me out with this?

Thank you!

(inb4 highschool fag, I'm a biology PhD student and my statistics lessons were 6 years ago, inb4 OP can't inb4, I don't give a shit.)

>> No.1977296

protip: consult someone at the university you work at

>> No.1977303

I need it by tomorrow. So if anyone knows a website which explains it, I'd be happy.

>> No.1977305

need weight of each mean

else can't do it

>> No.1977315

is it possible to assume the weight of the means is equal? i have only a sample size of 2 giving each mean (don't ask, this is biology).

>> No.1977351

>>1977287
look. this is a very abstract problem; is there any real data behind those value? you generally do not do what your asking.

the mean values can be averaged, no problems if you know their weights.

however i have never encountered what your asking with the standard deviation. you don't ever do that.

logically, what your doing is putting many data sets together, and then pulling out a value and asking about its properties..

>> No.1977375

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sum_of_normally_distributed_random_variables

this is closest thing, the sum, but it's not exactly what your asking.

>> No.1977430

>>1977375
>>1977351

OP here, I know very little about statistics (bad thing about our university, very little education in statistics). If you say you don't do that, I believe you. My problem is as follows:

- Several experiments yielding a value of a fluorescence intensity