[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 6 KB, 862x366, 1_hSlTm1U8HmQUMM23TY6qjg.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
16139011 No.16139011 [Reply] [Original]

i don't get it,explain it to me please
i'm a high school student btw

>> No.16139024

|x-a| is the magnitude of distance between an x value and the value a that it's "going to" in the limit
|f(x)-L| is the magnitude of distance between what the function f spits out, and the value you're trying to prove the limit goes to
The idea is that if x stays within a certain tolerance that makes it sufficiently close to a then the same holds for f(x) and L, so it's "closing in" on those values within the tolerances delta and epsilon

it is a logic statement "if X then Y" so to prove that you need to assume X is true (otherwise it's vacuous) and then show that Y is true.

>> No.16139096

>>16139024
i still don't completely get it but thank you

>> No.16139170

you have to kinda read it backwards (blame jewish polish notation for modern analysis)

1. the goal is to show that a function f(x) has a limit L at the point x=a
2. this means that if i take an epsilon band around L , so (L-eps , L + eps) , we should find a delta (possibly depending on eps) that gives us a 'delta band' (a-del , a+del) which guarantees that any input x taken from the delta band gives an output f(x) in the epsilon band.

so the steps are:
1. write down |f(x) - L | < eps
2. find a delta d(eps) that defines your input band |x-a| < delta(eps)
3. simplify |f(x) -L| in such a way as to extract (x-a) or something like that so you can bound it by a function of delta(eps)
4. write the bound in terms of epsilon , for example if you end up with (blah) < 10delta
and delta(eps) = 2*eps , then this is just (blah) < 20*eps