[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 27 KB, 640x420, 29685F6A-53B5-4B77-A78C-80B05060F078.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
14829541 No.14829541 [Reply] [Original]

Why is academia so soul crushing? I am just a dumb undergrad senior but having to wtrite a 3 page literature review to justify my basic machine learning project killed my mood
So much time looking at papers I don’t understand trying to cite something because it’s very important that this dumb basic information came from a source and seeing thousands of papers on the same subject but just slightly different totally kills my mood, the time I should spend learning I am spending on using Paraphrasing bots.

Fuck this shit. I smelled the aromma from afar and I am sick to my stomach can’t imagine how it must be for people who do this full time.

>> No.14830085

>>14829541
They are trying to teach you academic standards. Because you're in a university, they have to assume at least some of the students intend to go into academia as a profession.
Of course right now it doesn't matter whether you have a source or not for basic, obviously true information. Of course right now, you don't understand 90% of the things in those papers. But if you went into research, your citations would be from papers you were familiar with, which were relevant to your research. They have to develop this habit now in everyone who might at some point do independent research.