[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 811 KB, 1440x1260, Intermediate.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
14727236 No.14727236 [Reply] [Original]

I have no experience in biology other than one class in high school.
My understanding is: there are countless neurons in the brain. A neurons receives signals that may stimulate it, and it may fire, sending a signal to other neurons connected to it. The network of connections between neurons is very complex. Brain imaging has allowed scientists to understand which parts of the brain may be responsible for certain responses and activities.

That's all well and good, but I still don't have a grasp on how it all comes together - how do I have this experience of consciousness? How do I have memories? How can I imagine things?

I want to know the intermediate knowledge between "neurons exist" and "consciousness". As an analogy, it's like I want to know how my computer works but I only have been taught how a transistor relay works. What goes on in the middle?

>> No.14727239
File: 843 KB, 700x525, bicameral_mind.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>> No.14727288

>>14727236
The hard problem of consciousness is entirely in the realm of metaphysics and it's unlikely we'll ever have a verifiable answer. As for memory, the hippocampus catalogues the structures of neurons fired during specific experiences, and imagination is something like a crude simulation of arbitrary scenarios that draws on one's memories (likely originally intended to satisfy more primitive desires).

>> No.14727290

>>14727236

Imagine not being an idealist. Quantum mechanics has disproven materialism.

>> No.14727292

>>14727288
Soon, the memory transfer technology will sufficiently refined. Then.

>> No.14727427