[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 1.02 MB, 1014x720, Tohru-Retarded.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
12579070 No.12579070 [Reply] [Original]

Hi anons! I'm someone who is extremely motivated to learn astrophysics and particle physics to the greatest degree. Anyway, I'm just getting started on learning spacetime, and something confuses me-why does moving close to the speed of light affect time and how you age? I understand that space and time can be one 4 dimensional plane, and that when you move close to the speed of light you are perceiving light slower than someone who is stationary in your frame of reference. But what I can't wrap my head around is why this slows your aging, since you're still moving slower than light. Can someone explain this to me?

>> No.12579083

>>12579070
>slows your arging
This is a relative statement. Everybody experiences their own age normally. But if one person accelerates (e.g. moves away from you, then accelerates backwards and ends up next to you), then the time passed for that person is shorter.
E.g. you stand still for 2 seconds (on your clock) and a person stepping away from you for a second (on your clock), making that turn and and coming back to you will in the next second (on your clock) have aged less than two seconds (in the sense that their bodies/carried clocks didn't see 2 full seconds)

>> No.12579087

>>12579070
Here's a very simple example

Say you have two spaceships A and B, and they can move at 51% the speed of light

A and B start moving away from each other—now, from A's perspective, how fast is B moving? 102% the speed of light? Well no that can't be it, so.. from A's perspective, B is moving slower. Not just B, but everything else is going to be moving slower.

>> No.12579088