[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 311 KB, 1280x720, givenup.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11376338 No.11376338[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

I think I fucked up
I'll be graduating this semester with a bachelors in math+physics. I spent all my undergrad years preparing for grad school, but I've already been rejected from more than half the schools I applied to and it looks like I won't get in anywhere. I have no internship experience and built literally 0 job connections in these 4 years. What kind of jobs can I get and how? I have no programming background

>> No.11376357

>>11376338
construction, tutor on the side, keep trying to get in

>> No.11376376

>>11376357
>construction
I really can't do physical labor because of poor physique and some health complications, I'd also never get hired for a job like that because of overqualification
>keep trying to get in
I've sworn to myself to never look back on math/physics graduate schools if I don't get in anywhere this year. I put in 200% effort over these past few years and if that isn't enough to satisfy schools, nothing I can do will ever make the cut
>tutor on the side
Don't you need a degree in education for this? Could I even make this a full-time paying job?

>> No.11376432

>>11376338
Military officer
Teacher through a 3rd party certification program like iTeach for example
Pray to God

>> No.11376435

>>11376338
>I have no programming background
You'll have to learn

>> No.11376443

>>11376376
Stop making excuses, Anon. If you spent five minutes googling you'd know there are plenty of places that would hire you as a tutor just the way you are with a bachelor's in physics.

It's not unreasonable to try a second time. But if you only want to try once it's up to you.