[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 73 KB, 741x568, 1525732899299.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11317321 No.11317321 [Reply] [Original]

How can i actually begin to understand math better?
I'm currently in my first semester and discrete/linear math is like an alien language so far. It's as if i have some mental block that doesn't want to understand any math.

What do /sci/?

>> No.11317334

>>11317321
that just means you've reached your IQ limit

>> No.11317343

>>11317321
What have you tried?

>> No.11317377

>>11317343
i tried coaching class we have in my uni but i barely made any progress, everyone else seem to be way ahead of me even in the first couple day i went there.
Other than that i didn't bother much i just left it on the side so i could focus on other classes which im decent at

>> No.11317392
File: 1.12 MB, 3718x2150, Omnisucker - Kemono Friends - Foxes Studying Topology.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>11317321
Sit down in a study area with the textbook, a notebook, and a bunch of sharpened pencils. Work your way through the textbook, including the proofs and explanations in it.
Ignore advice that tells you to go watch meme videos in order to understand mathematics.

>> No.11318031

Read slowly. Reading math is completely different from reading any other thing, you have to learn how to understand what's in front of you. Take your time to understand the concepts. Some may take very long indeed.

>> No.11318054

>>11317392
>le funny furry anime uryzohns lemma picture
>shit advice
like pottery, go back undergrad

>> No.11318069

>>11317392
>Ignore advice that tells you to go watch meme videos in order to understand mathematics.
Normally I'm with you here, but 3B1B's series on linear algebra is actually pretty decent.

>> No.11318073