[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 105 KB, 1022x594, adobestock_257957753_ynews.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11180622 No.11180622 [Reply] [Original]

I have started engaging with Economic Theory. My first impression speaks of a general cluelessless of everybody on how economy functions exactly. We dont even have come close (from what i've read so far) to a consistent theory on how prices emerge.

Do i have just to get deeper to meet clarity, or will it remain as chaotic as it is? (The latter wouldn't stop me from engaging, i'm just curious whether this journey takes me)

>> No.11180629

I'm no expert, but I know someone that worked within several trading companies that makes billions, and he will tell without hesitation that everybody is fucking clueless.

>> No.11180644
File: 165 KB, 1191x1684, __remilia_scarlet_touhou_drawn_by_sasa_kichi__0e931e419910ad2ef269cb2218dbcea7.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Anon, economics is called the dysmal science for a reason.

>> No.11180666

>>11180622
If you're hoping for a universally valid theory on
>how economy functions exactly
then prepare to be disappointed: prices and economies are unironically a social construct, so each market will operate by its own kind of mechanism. This is why there are so many subfields of economics.

That said, the standard curriculum for each subfield will give you at least
>a consistent theory on how prices emerge
to a level of detail depending on your mathematical maturity. Off the top of my head, the [math]basic[/math] price models for each of the subfields are:
Arrow-Debreu-Mackenzie (microeconomics), Dynamic stochastic general equilibrium (DSGE) (macroeconomics),
Bayesian-Nash equilibrium (game theory),
Ordinary least squares (OLS) and autoregressive (AR) models (econometrics),