[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 18 KB, 575x512, punch.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11073250 No.11073250 [Reply] [Original]

computer science is just as rigorous as any other scientific field. i won't sit idly and let you people insult the legacy of turing, church, von neumann and other greats who have contributed an extreme amount of intellectual wealth and uplifted the human condition.

yes the undergraduate level is in a sorry state but that's true of a lot of fields and represents the decline of academia as a whole rather than any issue specific to computer science itself

>> No.11073286

>>11073250
math is not science.

>> No.11073290

ah yes today i am going to investigate how to open excel

>> No.11073312

today i will fall for /sci/ memes

>> No.11073382

im an okay programmer. I'm quite good with C, Rust, Ada (SPARK), Haskell and Lisp.

but i'm an absolute stupid brainlet who can't understand basic maths.

i used to think any subject was easy if you were interested enough. i'm interested in maths but i can't even understand the basics.

i've spent days trying to understand 2nd principle induction and principle of inclusion-exclusion, but i still can't.

i'm sure these concepts are easy as hell to grasp, but as an omega brainlet, i can say learning programming and compsci requires less brains than math.

>> No.11073405

>>11073382
either your school syllabus is trash or you didn't pay attention in class.

>> No.11073414 [DELETED] 

>>11073405
School syllabus was trash, got 100% in my classes but I went to a shit school. No one in my family knows math. I can love and be interested in maths as much as I want.

It'll always take my slow brain ages to understand any simple concept.

>> No.11073418

>>11073405