[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 110 KB, 960x960, 1564165229904.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11020714 No.11020714 [Reply] [Original]

I'm studying physics and at some point I realized that I'm more interested in managing other physicists than actually being the guy who does calculations, measurements, programming, data analysis etc.
All of my peers at uni tell me how they're afraid they'll end up in a job that doesn't involve any actual physics and thinking. That's literally what I want.

How hard is it to get from being a low salary python monkey to being a well-paid leader in the workplace, as part of the management?
I'd say most physicists don't want to take that kind of risk and responsibility, they just want to code and be comfy, go back to their families after work and relax. I'm not like that. I'm an INTJ type of person, a manipulative control freak capable of taking immense amounts of stress without as much as a need to drink on fridays. I literally have no life, no family, just a desire to go higher and higher. Whenever I enter a new community be it uni or a work place, I start mapping the social hierarchy there and try to weasel my way into the circles. This is literally my strong suit, not science. I started studying physics originally because I wanted to climb a mountain. Now I know as much physics as I'll ever need or want to know, but I'm still not far enough. Realizing I'm reaching the top and what awaits me is a mediocre desk job typing shit on a computer making 3k a month is not enough.

>your major should be business
Too late now, I'm not starting over with a new major. Besides, I still like science.

>> No.11020741