[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 52 KB, 903x960, 16e.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10798513 No.10798513 [Reply] [Original]

Hi sci, currently at my first year of mathematics at University. The biggest problem I found so far is the logic behind mathematics and physics theories. While studying I often find myself asking "yeah, this step makes totally sense, but how do I 'reach' this idea by myself?". That's why I'm having many troubles studying, because I actively understand what I'm studying but can't seem to understand the ideas behind it, so that I can be able to recall the steps, for example in a demonstration, by myself. Any suggestions on how to overcome this difficulty? I think just memorizing this stuff is useless in order to be able to develop ideas in the future, but I find myself stuck at the moment

>> No.10799266

>>10798513
It's just a set of tricks and principles you can find in a GRE math prep book.

e.g., General principles like proof by contradiction, mathematical induction, etc. There are also specific tools you can use when faced with novel situations.

At a deeper level, stuff like theorems are odd in the sense that the steps leading to them all make logical sense but there isn't a general procedure to efficiently identify all possible math theorems. At best you can make algorithms that will prove certain classes of math theorems.

Reading history of math, math puzzles, and doing math proofs can help give you better intuitions.

>> No.10799300

>>10798513