[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 1.58 MB, 615x346, Pilot-Theory-Gif-1-11022016.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10531474 No.10531474 [Reply] [Original]

good riddance to juvenile idiocy called the copenhagen interpretation I say. Too bad it took so long. A lot of needless confusion could have been avoided.

>> No.10531477
File: 442 KB, 432x270, walkers.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

David Bohm must be smiling down from above, saying, 'I told you so.' I just finished reading F. David Peat's biography on Bohm, 'Infinite Potential: The Life and Times of David Bohm.' Bohm was on to something. More physicists should have listened to him - and explored the math deeper. As a physicist myself, I never heard a word of pilot wave theory in undergrad or grad school. It was only years later, after meeting Bohm, that I became fascinated with his ideas.

>> No.10531577

how is pilot wave even considered a good interpretation? first of all, local hidden variables fail as an explanation for EPR correlations, and second of all, it just totally gets shat on by occam's razor. i prefer consistent histories

>> No.10532007

>>10531577
>occam's razor

dumbest idea in the history of science.

>> No.10532015
File: 29 KB, 602x339, main-qimg-8a748ac5e99f6fc1916905c1bac73670.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>10531577
>local hidden variables
de broglie bohm is non local
>occams razor
whether we are in a fundamentally probabilistic of deterministic universe it is true that there is a limit to measurement as we can only construct measuring devices from the system we are trying to measure
therefore occam razors favours de broglie bohm as the double split experiment can be explained by said limit in measurement without while copenhagen needs to add probabilism

>> No.10532018