[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 444 KB, 940x614, poison.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10499367 No.10499367 [Reply] [Original]

Pick your poison edition

Last one reached bump limit
old >>10485829

We discuss research, offer advice (the best advice we give is "SEE YOUR FUCKING FAMILY PHYSICIAN), shitpost and make fun of dumb premeds.

PA's, NP's and RN's (students too) are welcome!

I'm a 4th year med student from EU that will likely go into family medicine. If you have any questions, please ask me anything.

>> No.10499392

The vitamin C meme. So, how much truth is it that vitamin C "strengthens" the immune system and makes you better at fighting of the cold? Is this complete BS, or is there some truth to it?

>> No.10499403

>>10499392
"Thus, vitamin C has diverse role as an antioxidant protecting the immune cells against intracellular ROS production during inflammatory response, acting as an enzymatic cofactor and maintaining tissue integrity and plays a crucial role in formation of skin, epithelial and endothelial barriers [185]. Of late vitamin C supplementation has been found to be beneficial in various inflammatory conditions."

Here's the full article: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3783921/

>> No.10499432

>>10499403
Thanks. This is anecdotal, but this year I started taking vitamin C supplements and I haven't gotten sick once this year, except for some minor pharyngitis whenever I stopped taking the supplements.

>> No.10499452

>tfw graduate and go to work
>tfw after several years of work you feel like an utter retard in every medical field except your own... and in some ways your own too
At least hating people makes me money now

>> No.10499471