[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 105 KB, 750x1107, Dirac_4.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
10487164 No.10487164 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /SCI/ I am a physics student. I want to boost my physics skills. I see a lot of posts on here about how to improve mathematics skills but I never see any related to physics. I'm in my 2nd year and I want to study upper level topics on my own time. I started looking into lagrangian mechanics and Hamiltonian mechanics as well as some electrodynamics. I am currently in multivariable calc and I will be in diff eq and linear algebra next semester. I started looking at some of the classical mechanics stuff and it didn't seem to difficult but I don' t know what to do when diff eqs show up. I am going to look into learning how to solve some ahead of time this summer. What mathematics should I focus on strengthening the most? And of those how in depth should I go into them? Should I learn math ahead of time before I learn the physics that I want to apply it to or should I learn both the physics and math at the same time.

>> No.10487167

can someone please photoshop his teeth fixed

>> No.10487168

>>10487164
You are a brainlet op.
You get better in physics by being better at math. There is a reason why there are only math skill treads here.

>> No.10487179

>>10487168
Then why do a lot of really smart math majors suck at doing physics?

>> No.10487208

>>10487179
Because it's not their area of expertise. The hard part about physics is the math part, not the theory part.

>> No.10487277

>>10487208
Physics gives me really good intuition at math though. And it motivates so many problems too

>> No.10487278

>>10487179
>>10487164
You have to be more specific about what do you consider as being "bad at physics" or "doing physics".