[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 255 KB, 500x498, 1450548757784.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
8623451 No.8623451[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

>Used to read books everyday because I was a poor-fag as a small boy
>Read 400 by the time I graduated elementary school
>Got high speed internet
>Haven't willingly cracked open a book since then
>At most will read a lengthy article

Why do you guys choose to read in this modern age of video? I've felt more from good documentaries/top tier films, but that's probably because I've never really given literature a chance.

What's so great about books?

>> No.8623478

>>8623451
Read one and see

>> No.8623487

>>8623451
If you want to be a lazy cretin who justifies not reading with a greentext post on 4chan, nobody's going to try to stop you from being a lazy cretin in perpetuity

>> No.8623488

>>8623478
I've already the great Gatsby when I was 17. It blew ass. I'm currently 19.

I did start reading blood meridian, and I liked it a lot. I never got too far into it before I lost interest despite this.

I constantly drop media and feel no urge to pick it up again.

>> No.8623495 [DELETED] 

>>8623487
>In perpetuity

I hate that. Please don't use words like that. It's almost out of place in that sentence, and you could have supplemented virtually any other synonym and it would have been a better sentence.

I know you want to exercise your vocabulary but at what cost?

>> No.8623505

>>8623495