[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 140 KB, 1200x700, 1474069190290.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
8603845 No.8603845 [Reply] [Original]

A math PhD student in my insistute is organizing a reading group ablut operads (for homotopy theory - we read "the geometry of iterated loop spaces" by May)
I'm a physicist and feel I'm lacking in motivation for this abstraction - anybody here like operads and whats to tell me why?

>> No.8603858

I want matfak to leave

>> No.8604125

>>8603845
Why do you ask here an not on sci?

>> No.8604158

>>8604125
Because /sci/ is filled with even more pseuds than lit. Not OP, but I don't really read much literature. I'm mostly into pure-math and linguistics. Nevertheless, I prefer to browse /lit/ because most people on /sci/ seem to be pretentious engineering majors who think they're the shit because they passed Calc III and Differential equations with an 82% and then they shit on stuff like biology because its not a "real science".

>> No.8604541

>>8603845
>group ablut operads
Until I realized that was a typo I was like wth

I would recommend coming to the reading on its own terms. You may lack motivation now, but when you get into the process you may find it easier.

Operads are way outside of my areas of knowledge but they look interesting.

>> No.8604750

I don't know fucking anything about math but I want to know about math.

Please explain every single thing about math to me, from learning it as a grown man who forgets how to do long division, to getting up to a college level education in it, to picking a high level specialty, to appreciating mathematical philosophy and the philosophy of math without getting trapped number-crunching primes on computer programs for eternity.

>> No.8604825

>>8604750