[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 135 KB, 585x591, rna organism.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
7363863 No.7363863 [Reply] [Original]

I'm a graduate student studying early modern English lit at a well-regarded American university. I'm in the dissertation stage. I know many (some? one or two?) of you are considering doing the graduate school thing this application season or in the near future, and I'm really bored and in the mood to tickle my ego, so I thought I'd do us both a favor and answer any questions you might have that reveal no identifying info about me and aren't entirely stupid. Applications process, grad student life, academic questions, etc.

No proof offered of course, but my answers can speak for themselves.

>> No.7363874

What are you doing your dissertation on? I'm doing mine on Shelley and the Hellenistic Ideal currently.

>> No.7363879

Do you work?

>> No.7363897

>>7363874
Fear of Catholicism in English literature mostly during the Stuart era. The idea of the dissimulating Catholic with his loyalty split between pope and king became one of the driving forces of the political imaginary, and the ramifications are clearer in literature than political philosophy.

>>7363879
I teach a composition class as well as doing my own studies.

>> No.7363904

1. How many schools did you apply to?

2. How many accepted / rejected / waitlisted you?

3. Who wrote your letters of recommendation? (As in, who were they to you?)

4. Did you turn in a writing sample? What was it?

5. What was your GPA when you finished undergrad?

>> No.7363913

What do you plan to do with your graduate degree?

>> No.7363921

>>7363904
>schools
14, iirc.

>accepted/rejected/waitlisted