[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 90 KB, 500x601, 1444309712261.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
7272191 No.7272191 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /lit/

First time posting here, and I'm curious about something.
I've been pursuing a degree in literature for a few years now, and the days when I get my Bachelor's is fast approaching. I've taken a number of creative writing classes, and one of my professors has noticed something that I wasn't aware of.

The concept of suicide comes up frequently in regards to the protagonist. They end up committing suicide, someone tells them to kill themselves, they undertake an endeavor they know will eventually kill them, one character discovers he's dead (and his suicide attempts wasn't simply a bad dream), etc.

I don't write particularly sad stories, and I don't feel like I'm venting. My mother committed suicide when I was nine and I'm opposed to suicide.
I don't particularly know why I do this, but it seems reflexive. What do you make of this?

>pic related

>> No.7272194

>>7272191
Death occures in a lot of stories people at the age between 15 and 25 write even if those people are rather unlikely to die.

Dunno, do I look like a pyschologist?

>> No.7272197

>>7272194
You don't "look" like anything.
I'm 24 though. Death I can understand... but suicide? Seems a little... off. Maybe I'm onto something.

>> No.7272211

>>7272197
>You don't "look" like anything.
Thanks asshole, some people here have feelings and you just hurt them.

Anyway, have you tried killing yourself to find out?

>> No.7272217

>>7272211
Seriously? I was just being dry for a moment.
I'm not familiar with the /lit/ community, so I don't know how anyone...

>Anyway, have you tried killing yourself to find out?
Oop, nevermind.

>> No.7272221