[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 14 KB, 183x280, anti-oedipus.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6552766 No.6552766 [Reply] [Original]

Quick question anons, where do you think one should start with Deleuze? Can't decide between Nietzsche and Anti-Oedipus. I know it's kind of ironic to ask how to "make sense" of it, so I'll just take your personal opinions or feelings or whatever, since I've got no strong preference one way or the other. I've studied philosophy in high school and I'm majoring in the subject, but there are no courses on the guy and I really feel an itch.

>> No.6552801

I recommend Nietzsche then Spinoza then Difference and Repetition then Logic of Sense then Anti-Oedipus then A Thousand Plateaus

>> No.6553574

>>6552801
Seconding this, but I recommend you to make a few extra stops. Download Bergson's reader from libgen and read at least one Nietzsche's book (I recommend Beyond Good and Evil). Bergson in particular is crucial, that's where Deleuze starts as a philosopher. His first essays are precisely on Bergson being the answer to Hegel. And Bergson is fun to read.

As a general schematic Deleuze went through 3 periods of major influence, in this order:
>Bergson
>Nietzsche
>Spinoza

And if you have the will to make more detours then also get at least some vague knowledge of these:
>Hegel
>Marx
>Freud

It's not *that* crucial though, there's certain fun in just jumping straight into some philosopher's works and struggling to create your own interpretation.

>> No.6553657

>>6553574
Your last statement is correct, in particular for Deleuze. Get a copy of A Thousand Plateaus and just read it at random whenever you're feeling a little surge of intensity overcome you.

If nothing else, you can laugh.

>> No.6553749