[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 20 KB, 234x346, image.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6366879 No.6366879 [Reply] [Original]

Have any of you read this? Is it worth a read?

>> No.6367132

I've read it. Disclaimer: I'm a career Army officer.

If you think you would be interested in what Rommel has to say about fighting in World War One, you should read it. You probably wouldn't even know about this book otherwise, so do it, faggot. Be warned however, Rommel doesn't meditate on The Meaning Of It All; it's a straightforward description of his experience with a focus on the tactical.

He starts in France, and gives a firsthand description of how the Western Front stalemate developed. Then he's shot in the leg and evacuated and goes to Italy.

In Italy he uses speed and daring to defeat dug-in and numerically superior but clearly generally inept Italian troops. After proving he's King Badass of Shit Mountain, he sits out the rest of the war in a safe staff position.

You will get acquainted with why everyone thought Rommel was such a big deal even before World War 2. His experiences will make it very obvious how he (and every other German, who all read this book) saw the potential for maneuver warfare before ever seeing a tank or a radio. Rommel doesn't talk too much about himself, but by the end when he's a lieutenant in command of a battalion and rolling up entire enemy brigades, you can tell that he knows he's the shit.

If you've read other (especially English) memoirs of WW1, the ones where some literary type finds himself on the front and feels butthurt, this will also give you another perspective on the war, one from the kind of person (like nearly every senior officer in WW2) who wasn't soured on the concept of warfare by personal experience in WW1.