[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 40 KB, 500x377, 1421503326989.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6164948 No.6164948 [Reply] [Original]

Not strictly /lit/ related, but there is no /hist/, so, fuck it. I was raised in a very conservative household, my education included 'christ centered' home schooled curriculum and history lessons from my fundamentalist dad. As you can guess, I didn't get the most objective education. Recently, I've taken an interest in relearning stuff. Literature, history, science, etc. To make a long story short, I started learning about the cold war and Vietnam. I'm terribly confused, why the FUCK did America involve itself in Vietnam? The only answer I've found is 'muh communism' and cold war bullshit. Sincerely, I don't understand why the US should feel even remotely proud of itself. I feel like we tried to be superman and save the world from the evils of communism, even though, arguably, it was on its way out. I don't know lit, I feel like there is an angle I'm missing, teach me, bishop.

>> No.6164957

>>6164948
The military industrial complex

>> No.6164959

You're missing that Ho Chi Minh was basically a communist saint and did literally nothing wrong.

>> No.6164964

America was opposed to the USSR. America wanted countries to stay in its geopolitical orbit and submit to vassalization through American economic dominance. The USSR wanted ideological allies in communist states. The USA couldn't tolerate a communist Vietnam.

It's not saving the world from communism. It's saving it from the USSR.

>> No.6164976

homeschoolfag reporting in.