[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 246 KB, 992x1600, To kill a mockingbird.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5538399 No.5538399 [Reply] [Original]

So I'm new to reading and after seeing the /lit/ starter kit (thanks btw for making that) I decided to start with To kill a mockingbird.

The problem is that I can only find the edition in pic related and not the edition that's listed in the starter kit. I'm wondering whether it matters which edition I read and whether the recommended one is actually better.

>> No.5538418

No.

But if you find a book that says abridged, leave it.

>> No.5538421

>>5538399
It's american literature, why would it matter? Care only if the book was originaly written in another language.

>> No.5538444

If you haven't already purchased mockingbird I would suggest for you to switch to a nabokov title, to kill a mockingbird was somewhat dry and boring.

>> No.5538476

You should read The Great Gatsby sooner rather than later.

>> No.5538509

>>5538476
Why? Will more literary experience dull it?

>> No.5538516

>>5538418
What does abridged mean?

>>5538444
I haven't purchased it yet. Just finished The stranger (my first book in a long time) and I'm still trying to decide what I'm going to read next. To kill a mockingbird sounds actually really interesting.

What's so good about nabokov?

>> No.5538547

tkam is shit. nothing profound is explored, boring as fuck, weak even by social justice standards. there's a reason only 6th graders read it

it was written by capote anyway, so swap this out for breakfast at tiffany's or in cold blood

>> No.5538548

>>5538516
Cut

https://www.google.com/
http://www.wikipedia.org/

>> No.5538571
File: 53 KB, 417x700, 1410473735321.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>5538548