[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 76 KB, 800x814, 7-socrates1.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4941720 No.4941720[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Hi /lit/, I have a question about Book I of The Republic:

1. Good men don't chase money or honor
2. Money and honor cannot induce a good man to rule
3. Therefore, if one is to rule, one must be compelled by something else
4. The compulsion is the penalty of being ruled by an inferior power

If this is so, why then should good men escape office (as Socrates says), rather than seek it? Is it that seeking office is considered morally wrong? Isn't the one who seeks to rule also seeking his own advantage by escaping this penalty? I apologize if this is a basic question: I'm new to this way of thinking.

>> No.4941761
File: 24 KB, 400x400, 1013304_649332101787951_880315585_n.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

bump

>> No.4941767

Who cares? All the serious problems of our time, and you're wasting your time with this "conundrum".

>> No.4941769

>>4941720
Office confers not only power and prestige but also responsibility of making sure everyone under you is taken care of.
The just man does want does not chase after the power or prestige so office only holds responsibility for him. Responsibility necessary entails supervision and constant hard work. Thus holding office is not desirable for the just man. The only way a just man will come into office is when he sees that no one else is capable of taking on the responsibility.
Now consider the unjust man who chase after power and prestige. The unjust man will do his utmost to hold office for the power it holds not necessarily because of the responsibility it holds. This is the reason why all government will eventually become corrupt unless shit hits the fan and the good men come out.