[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 1.59 MB, 1229x819, 1266434327701.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
486742 No.486742 [Reply] [Original]

/lit/ this is my first time post at this board, and I come with a question.

What, in your view, makes a likable protagonist?

Who is your favourite protagonist and why?

This is for a book I am considering writing at the moment, so any help is much appreciated.

Picture, pretty much unrelated.

>> No.486753

Byronic heroes.

>> No.486750
File: 167 KB, 423x525, falstaff.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Falstaff.

>> No.486759

Although I am more of a believer in that the protagonists "likeability" is shaped by the author, I guess that some values that I like to see in a protagonist include: personal connection, flaws, talents, ambitions and personality. Lots of personality.

My favourite protagonist at the moment is probably either Pygmy from Chuck Palahniuks 'Pygmy' or the protagonist in Albert Camus' 'The Stranger'.

I'm more of a non-fiction buff though, so those may be horrible responses.

>> No.486790

>>486759
I see. I'm writing a fiction novel. Kind of a steam punk setting. Thanks for the help.

>> No.486794

>>486790
For a steam-punk novel I could see a heavy focus on the flaws and personality parts.

>> No.486801
File: 55 KB, 320x240, lenny.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

retards make likeable characters. they have an aura of innocence.

>> No.486804

People who don't give a fuck, do what they love because they love doing it. Make art as beautiful as it can be, and breaking all the rules.

Howard Roarke from Ayn Rand's "The Fountainhead."

>> No.486807
File: 113 KB, 700x559, the-prodigal-son.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>486794