[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 31 KB, 316x385, nietzsche7.130150318_std.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
461717 No.461717 [Reply] [Original]

Hi, /lit/. I'm looking to get into some philosophy, but i'm completely new to this type of reading, and I honestly don't know where to start my studies. Any suggestions?

Pic related.

>> No.461719

Actually, pic not related

>> No.461722

Plato.

And it's probably best if you actually start with him, and not with somebody talking about him. Go straight for The Republic. Don't read what somebody else has to say about him, read him.

>> No.461724

>>461719

Well, Nietzsche is actually what sparked my interest. Am I using the wrong word for the type of reading i'm looking for?

>> No.461733

Nietzsche is a good place to start. Try Beyond Good and Evil.

>> No.461735

>>461722

Thanks much. Is there a specific version of this I should look for? Or is any version good?

>> No.461738

>>461733

Not sure if serious, but I will check that out as well. For some reason, I have a preconceived notion that Nietzsche is very hard to understand. Is that false?

>> No.461739

plato is a pretty revolting face of philosophy. the metaphysical and theoretical promiscuity in there puts nietzsche to shame.

i'd go with some contemporary stuff.

>> No.461741

>>461724

Well, I suppose I'm one of those people that absolutely fall in love with N but have no fucking idea what they're talking about. Because I'm a hater, and haters gonna hate.

I'm not dismissing Nietzsche; I'm just suggesting, if you haven't read it already, to put him down until you get some solid Plato/Hobbes/Locke down.

Then again, I hate philosophy, and think it can go die in a fire, so that's where I'm coming from

>> No.461746

>>461739