[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 155 KB, 800x648, 1392339323501.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4595347 No.4595347[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

My question up front: is it plausible to teach oneself finance and economics, read the news, etc., and just make money playing the stock market?

I'm studying Madame Bovary in college right now, and my prof plays this little number:

Here's what our culture teaches us: get a job, get married, have 2.5 children, a raised ranch, a golden retriever, and a goldfish, work for 40 years, die. That's a pretty shitty story, and one of the major reasons Flaubert wrote MB was to get us to question this "master narrative." Later, the modernists develop this idea through perspectivism (ex A Little Cloud--Chandler sees living in Paris as the answer to his troubles, Gallaher is back in Dublin, wishing for Chandler's life), and the Beats actually give it a whirl. If you wanted, you could hollow out a tree and live in the woods. You could join a rainforest tribe or a Shaolin Temple, but no one does, because they're afraid, afraid to leave.

Been thinking about this stuff a lot lately, but the same ideas have been circling around and around in my head and I haven't been able to reach much of a satisfactory conclusion. Hell, I could research how to survive in the wilderness and be done with this society of slavery--Eating Cheap by Benson features "the ridge runner," a man who lived off the land without money for 13 years. Imagine not having to work for the rest of your life. Of course, looking at it this way is very romantic: in reality, such a life will have lots of extreme discomfort and danger, much more so than the master narrative offers. It seems freedom is the price of comfortability.