[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 186 KB, 500x668, isaac-asimov.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
414192 No.414192 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /lit/, it's spring break and my campus is empty - I'm still here, taking advantage of the peace and quiet to get some work done.

I'm in the science building study lounge and I start browsing the the shelves of books. I've never done it before now because it just looks like a bunch of old outdated textbooks.

However, in the middle of one shelf I found two dozen science fiction paperbacks - about half Asimov, and the rest Herbert, Vonnegut, etc.

Jackpot.

Question: Is it okay to steal these?

>> No.414197

Take one. And only one.

>> No.414210

No, unless you're implying never in a million years will a similar-minded person browse these selfsame shelves and be pleasantly surprised at the selection.

If you steal them you're going to murder that future.

>> No.414213

Every book you take must be replaced by a book of equal or greater quality. You may leave more than one book to replace a very good book that you take, but you may not take more books than you leave regardless of relative quality.

>> No.414216

>>414210
>implying he hasn't already stolen them, and in that moment will always steal them and will have always stolen them

>> No.414219

You guys are right I guess. When I found them I just assumed they were hidden there and nobody else found them.

While I doubt many people peruse these shelves of old textbooks I'm sure every now and then someone will, like I did.

I shall borrow and not steal.

I wonder how they got there - it's like someone just dumped their collection here, in the science building reading lounge.

>> No.414244