[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 50 KB, 620x456, roberto_bolano.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3749952 No.3749952 [Reply] [Original]

Thoughts on Bolaño?

I find is work very, very good. Just finished The Savage Detectives, not as good as 266, but still a delightful work.

>> No.3749961

I bet you read him in English.

Ha, ha, pleb.

>> No.3749966

>>3749961

Yes, I did, so? Stop deying the power of translations. I bet you also read Dostoyevsky in Russian.

>> No.3749969

>>3749952
Jesus Christ, reading 2666 at the moment.

It's overwhelming, to say the least.

>> No.3749973

>>3749966
>implying Spanish is as difficult as Russian
>implying you're not just a lazy, monolingual embarrassment

Live the stereotype. Be the stereotype, you dumb American.

>> No.3749975

I studied Spanish in high school for five or so years. With a dictionary could I read Bolaño in spanish?

>> No.3749979

>>3749975
Just because you "studied in high school" for 5 years doesn't mean anything. Everyone knows high school is basically just free babysitting service where just showing up means you get at least a B.

>> No.3749982

>>3749979
Yeah I know. I'm saying I have a basic knowledge of spanish syntax and a decent vocabulary. So would it be reasonable to read books in spanish by consulting a dictionary?

>> No.3750004

>>3749982
It depends on how long you'd want to go looking up all the words you don't know.

Can you read this paragraph, from 2666, without dictionarial aid: