[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 8 KB, 177x285, images.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3663934 No.3663934 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /lit/,

I am a young author. And I use that term loosely, considering that I have never written anything of substance.. I would like to change that, however, and write a novel by the end of my senior year (approx. 14 months.)

So I come here asking the great readers and Scholars of the internet for any advice on accomplishing this dream. Also, the things that you appreciate in a good book. And on the contrary, all the things that ruin a book for you.

Anything helps, even opinions.

>> No.3663936

Subtly. Precision. And beautiful images.

At least for me.

>> No.3663938

>>3663936
subtlety

>> No.3663945

>>3663936
When you say subtlety, what do you mean?

>> No.3663947 [DELETED] 

>>3663945
I mean when your provoking a reaction from the reader, it should be done subtly.

>> No.3663950

>>3663945
Knowing when to spoonfed. Knowing when to take your time for those moments. Knowing when to let the story unfold.

>> No.3663956

Write. Inspired or not, just write, or you never will. Also, fuck subtlety. You need to grab someone's attention from the get go, or nobody will care.

>> No.3663959

>>3663956
That takes subtlety too, the lack of subtlety. Though before you worry about that skill, you must first write your story.

>> No.3663962 [DELETED] 

▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▓▓▒▒▓▓
▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▓▓▓
▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▓▓▓▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▓▓
▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▓▓▓
▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▓▓▒▒▓▓
▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓▓▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓
▓▓▓▒▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓▓▒▒▓▒▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▒▓▓▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓
▓▒▓▒▒▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▒▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▓▓
▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓

.................…………………………._¸„„„„_
…………………….…………...„--~*'¯…….'\
………….…………………… („-~~--„¸_….,/ì'Ì