[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 367 KB, 3000x2046, katawa_shoujo__colour_logo__high_res__by_pikkirby-d4ua9dp.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3420343 No.3420343 [Reply] [Original]

I know this is probably dangerously off-topic, but this is my first time posting on /lit/, and I'm not really familiar with the limits of what can be discussed.

However, given the off chance that some of you might have played this VN, I am legitimately interested:

What does /lit/ think of the writing in Katawa Shoujo?
I know people will send me to KSG, but I feel this is the place for legitimate, professional critique.

>> No.3420368

I think it's interesting from a stylistic point of view, because I got the impression, at least in the demo, that the writers were emulating the way English works when it's translated from Japanese. The idea being that you get a product that feels like it was originally written in Japanese and then translated into English.

>> No.3420398

>>3420368
I find this style prevalent on 4chan. It is kinda interesting.

I've also only played the demo. The writing wasn't that great, just cliches and appeal for lonely dudes.

>> No.3420405

>>3420398
It was a good game. The 3rd act twists were on average pretty creative and the characters were likable. It was no Ulysses, but it certainly was good.

>> No.3420419

>>3420405
I have it installed but it makes me feel autistic as fuck just opening it.

Are there sex scenes and all that like a regular VN?

>> No.3420429

>>3420419
You can count the total number of sex scenes on one hand, and most of them are softcore. You can even have them disabled.

>> No.3420448

>>3420343