[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 19 KB, 220x312, image.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3326820 No.3326820 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /lit/!
My boyfriend is studying psychology and I thought about buying him a book that we both could read. (I am a literature student btw)
Any suggestions?

>> No.3326825

Ulysses
Ms. Dalloway
The Sound and the Fury
Hamlet
In Search of Lost Time
Sons and Lovers

>> No.3326834

The Drowned and the Saved.
The Double.

>> No.3326977

Anything by Carl Jung

>> No.3326980

>>3326825
good taste

>> No.3328540

>>3326820
Sade's Philsophy in the Bedroom. It's proto-Freudian.

>> No.3328558

>>3326977
fuck off retard

>> No.3328565

How about books by Dostoyevsky?
There's also The Red and the Black by Stendhal, a great psychological novel.
Or Kokoro by Soseki.

>> No.3328578

Literally any Faulkner at all...

>> No.3328579

>>3328558
What the hell? Not even that guy, but what the hell?

>> No.3328588

>>3328558
Try reading him when you stop being a teenager. Your frontal lobe will be a bit more developed.

>> No.3328599

>>3328588
Not that guy. But jung is terrible, just terrible.
Zizek is right when he calls him new age crap.

>> No.3328601

Nietzsche is always good, I think of him as more of a psychologist than a philosopher

>> No.3328614

How real is real? by Paul Watzlawick

Is a quite interesting read, and accessible

>> No.3328700

I know it may sound odd. But have you thought of buying your boyfriend a book by Dostoevsky. I'd recommend the Brother Karamazov, a novel which Freud called 'the most magnificent ever written'. Dostoevsky's novels explore the human psyche combined with emotional writing. Definitely worth a read for people who are studying lit or psych.

>> No.3328725

>>3328599
Zizek :(