[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 621 KB, 2560x1024, dual_screen_wallpaper_planets-other.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3223195 No.3223195 [Reply] [Original]

Any good Sci-fi recommendations? I've currently got into Phillip K. Dick because it just seems he was everything I was looking for.

What I want...
1. Nothing too literal, I don't want a book about a guy who meets aliens blah blah.
2. I want something what's totally crazy, something I can get ideas from to write lyrics. (I'm a musician, who mostly writes sci-fi lyrics.)

Been reading a book by Dick called "Three Stigmata..." I had an idea what I wanted to read. I'm a big drug user and the book is about people who traffic drugs from colonies in space etc.. and trip etc.. etc..

I want weird stuff like that, also open to just crazy sci-fi stories which will make you go "WTF". Sorry I can't explain very well haha. Just looking for some advice /lit/.

>> No.3223196

Stapledon's Last and First Men, and Star Maker?

At the Mountains of Madness?

>> No.3223204

>>3223196
Thanks for recommendations.

>At the mountains of madness?
Isn't that Lovecraft?

I want to stay well away from Lovecraft, I like his work but lyrical wise, most bands milk the hell out of lovecraft.

>> No.3223210

>>3223196
Just found a pdf version of Star Maker, read up on the plot and it sounds great. Thanks. I'll check out last and first men too.

>> No.3223241

>>3223195
What type of music do you make?

>> No.3223274

>>3223195
Peter Watts, Blindsight. Proper science fiction horror story and if you can't get ideas for lyrics from it you're not trying or don't like being depressed.

>> No.3223278

Lyrics are easy

Space
I'm flying through fucking space
Yeah
I'm blasting shit with my blasting ray
And dodging asteroids that come my way