[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 258 KB, 943x1000, derrida.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3007299 No.3007299[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Anyone read any Derrida? I was contemplating reading either Rogues or The Politics of Friendship. I'm a politics and philosophy student and I've noticed his influence in both disciplines. Any advice would be appreciated.

>> No.3007307

Don't read Derrida.

>> No.3007313

>>3007307
And why?

>> No.3007314

don't read derrida.
His influence is negligeable beyond some name dropping in journal articles.

He's one of those intelectuals who you hear people talk about a lot (especially students), who could fill out a large amphitheatre if he came back to life and did a public lecture...but in actual fact his influence is entirely over-estimated.

>> No.3007322

>>3007313
He is horrible and appears to have more or less nothing to say. His example of the dictionary for 'différance' is pants-on-head retarded because a dictionary necessarily is made up of signifiers explained through other signifiers, but that is related to the fact that if you open your skull, there is a brain inside, not a dictionary. Using the dictionary as an example for how meaning supposedly works in a system based on Saussure is thus a hilariously shitty move. The entire idea that meaning is deferred to other signifiers comes from the lack of a referrential function in Saussure (which is also the reason why structuralist accounts of language are so implausible both phylo- and ontogenetically). He is just a once-fashionable textualist amongst others.

>> No.3007339

Post modernism and post structuralism are only good for essay references, otherwise they are shit.

>> No.3007347

I'd stay away as the others would.