[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 16 KB, 220x330, FilePlato_Silanion_Musei_Capitolini_MC1377.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2862977 No.2862977[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Hello /lit/. I am interested in philosophy but have no idea where to begin. I was looking through the recommended reading list but there are too many to chose from for a complete beginner like me. Thanks for the help

>> No.2862982
File: 58 KB, 748x818, 1335127473242.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Read a comprehensive introduction to philosophy and from there, either read based on what interests you, or go the historical route.

>> No.2862989

>>2862982
That sounds perfect. I'm assuming the exact title is "Philosophy of Mind: A Comprehensive Introduction". Thanks

>> No.2862990

>>2862982
>Modern Science
>not in any way dependent on the Scholastics

>> No.2862996

>>2862989

That's actually a book about a specific field within philosophy. When I said 'comprehensive introduction', I didn't mean any specific test, just a good, thorough introductory book.

>> No.2863002

>>2862996
Oh, I see. Thanks for clarifying, I'm basically trying to find something specific.

>> No.2862999

I started with Plato's dialogues.

Although not a book, I recommend downloading (for free on iTunes U) the series of pretty short lectures collectively called General Philosophy from Oxford University. [Peter Millican is the name of the speaker.]

I haven't read it, but Bertrand Russell's History of Western Philosophy is mentioned a lot as a good read that apparently fails to cover a lot of modern stuff very well - indeed, completely leaving out - if I recall correctly - Kierkegaard (of whom I'm sure even you've heard).