[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 73 KB, 1584x677, Random-House_0.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2840525 No.2840525 [Reply] [Original]

Hello /lit/!

A couple years ago I was very fortunate to land an internship at Random House. That summer I started a pretty popular and successful thread here about what really goes on in the publishing industry and how a book actually becomes a book.

Now two years later I'm a freelancer at that company, with the hope and expectation that I will be hired on full-time once I graduate this May. I know a lot more about the industry now than the first time around, and I was wondering if anyone would be interested if I started those threads up again? I had a lot of fun doing it before, and a lot of people seemed to like it!

If not, that's fine too. In that case, just let the thread pass and I'll delete if I see no one's interested. Otherwise, ask away, I guess!

-Sidi-

>> No.2840532

Very cool. I've been here only a few months so I can't remember your thread, but sounds really cool. I'm first and foremost curious about your job and education. How did you get into the publishing business? And what do you do now?

My second question is; do you think it would be easier to publish a short story collection in my native tongue or in English? It's a much bigger market to get into, but harder as well.

I've just been experimenting with writing English these days, and I wonder if it's even worth it rather than publish in my native tongue and then maybe even translate it myself.

>> No.2840531

Would Random House be willing to give someone an advance based on the first three chapters of a novel?

>> No.2840534

>>2840531
not op, but fuck no.

>> No.2840537

What's the average layover time between when a book's rights are purchased and its release?