[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 101 KB, 500x662, zooey-deschanel-hot-pictures-7d2de.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2711722 No.2711722 [Reply] [Original]

I have a question for people who are in or know a lot about doctoral English programs.

Which specialization is the LEAST popular? I mean, which specialization could I apply to where I wouldn't have the most competition?

I honestly like the full range of English lit and don't care if I'm studying Milton or Romanticism or 20th Century Lit. or whatever. I just want to get into a good school.

My current English professor said Theory/Criticism is the most popular and I'll face the most competition applying for that specialization but poetry and poetics will have scant competition. I think she's full of shit.

What do you guys think? Right now I'm leaning toward Romanticism or 17th Century British. Most good schools have fewer professors in those fields so, I'm assuming, fewer applicants. But then I think that the 20th Century Lit has more professors, so probably more spots open.

what do?

>> No.2711731

How about Australian, Canadian, or other English-speaking countries? They sure as fuck don't get as much attention.

>> No.2711726

>I want to get a doctorate.
>In what?
>Anything. As long as it's a doctorate.

You are what's wrong with education.

>> No.2711740

>>2711726

I don't care what my specialization is in an ENGLISH DOCTORAL PROGRAM. Seriously, I don't care and that doesn't make me what's wrong with education.

It doesn't fucking matter what you specialize in; you're going to end up teaching Intro to Lit, anyway. Who fucking cares what you write your dissertation on? It's ALL interesting to me.

I just want to get into a good school, so I can teach a good school.

Blah, blah. Go fuck yourself.

>> No.2711755