[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 34 KB, 326x500, thirteenuk.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2392472 No.2392472 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /lit/

This is my first time ever visiting this board, I usually don't discuss what I read (it's kind of a "solo activity" for me), but this is a bit more serious, so I turn here.

So I read a lot of positive reviews and opinions about Jay Asher's book "Thirteen reasons why". Since I've been... well... in the mood, I thought I'd give a shot for a novel about suicide, but it was a disappointment. I just can't take it seriously. I mean it's not a bad really. It's a good read and you can go through it in several hours, but I expected some deep thoughts and maybe something to shed some light for me, but I couldn't connect, it's too "lightweight".

So I need some novel suggestions that really hit the nerves. Suicide, depression, nihilism, existentialism, and not on a silly way like the above mentioned teen novel. Novels written in the past ~2 decades would be preferred, but I can read older books too of course.

Also, if you've read the novel, you can go ahead and give your opinions about it.

>> No.2392475